How much does a wedding seating chart app cost?
The quick version: for a couple, the cheapest cash price we found is SimplifyTables at $9.99 per event (with a QR seat finder even on its free plan), followed by SeatCanvas at $19.99. Most other tools cluster around $29. What you get for that money varies a lot: whether the plan expires, whether automatic seating is included, and whether you can print.
- Ask three questions before you pay: how long does access last, is there a guest cap, and what costs extra?
- “One-time” isn’t always permanent: several passes expire after 90 days to 6 months.
- Free plans range from no save at all to a full plan with no guest cap.
- For planners, per-event passes are cheapest at low volume; flat monthly plans win when you need unlimited weddings.
We make Lovely Seating, one of the tools in this table, so read our row with that in mind. Every competitor price and limit below was read on that company’s own pricing or help page on 14 October 2026, and each one is linked. Where a site didn’t say something, we wrote “—” rather than guess.
Wedding seating chart app prices compared (October 2026)
This table compares the free plan, the paid price, how long you keep access and which features each paid tier includes. Prices are in the currency each site shows, before sales tax or VAT. The tool name stays pinned while you scroll sideways through the columns.
| Tool | Free plan | Paid price | One-time or subscription | How long access lasts | Guest cap (paid) | Auto-seat | QR seat finder | Print exports |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lovely Seating | 1 wedding, 1 seating plan; unlimited guests & tables; saved to your account; watermarked on-screen preview | Pro $39 one-time (1 wedding, up to 5 seating plans) · Agency $79/month (unlimited weddings) | Pro: one-time · Agency: monthly | Pro never expires | No cap on any plan | Yes, on Free | Pro | Pro: PDF & image charts, place cards, 7 themes |
| table-plan.com | 1 project, up to 30 guests; no PDF downloads | Premium $29 per event · Pro $49/month | Premium: one-time · Pro: monthly | Premium: 3 months, then back to Free | Premium 250 · Pro unlimited | No (you drag guests to seats) | Premium & Pro | Premium & Pro: Print Studio PDFs |
| Seatbee | 1 event, up to 100 seated guests; PDF chart, table & place cards | Event Pass $29 (2 for $49, 5 for $99) · Signature $49 · Grand $149 | One-time per event | 6 months of edits; plan stays saved | 250 · 500 · 1,000 | Paid passes only | — | PDFs on Free |
| SeatPlan.io | Full designer, but no save and no PDF | Pro £8 · Collaborate £14 · Event Manager £40/month (billed annually) | Pro & Collaborate: one-time · Event Manager: subscription | Pro & Collaborate: 90 days, then view-only | No cap listed | — | Collaborate & Event Manager | Pro and up: PDF |
| SeatCanvas | Unlimited guest list, seat up to 40 on the canvas; PDF & PNG; cloud save | Event Pass $19.99 | One-time | Until 30 days after your event | Unlimited | Pass (free preview up to 40 guests) | — | PDF & PNG on Free; CSV on the pass |
| SimplifyTables | Up to 30 guests per event, unlimited events; shareable link & QR | Unlimited Guests $9.99 per event | One-time per event | Not stated | Unlimited | — (drag-and-drop) | Yes, on Free | Printable QR sign templates; Excel/CSV |
| PlanSeats | 1 event, 20 guests, 4 tables; PNG & CSV | Plus $8.99/month or $50 once (3 events) · Pro $39.99/month | Monthly, or one-time for Lifetime Plus | $50 Lifetime Plus: “keep it forever” | Unlimited on paid plans | Plus & Pro | — | Paid plans: PDF |
| PerfectTablePlan | Trial download; can’t save, export or print plans over 30 guests | Home $29.95 · Advanced $74.95 · Professional $299.95 | One-time licence (Windows & Mac desktop app) | Single payment, no subscription | Unlimited | Yes | — | Prints plans, charts, place & escort cards |
| Zola | Up to 15 guests (iOS app & desktop) | Premium unlock; price not published on its help page | — | Not stated | — | — (seating is manual) | — | PDF or Excel |
| Joy | Sample floor plan only; your guests appear after you unlock | One-time purchase per event; price shown in the app | One-time per event | Not stated | — | Yes (“Seat Guests”) | — | PDF floor plan; table & meal CSVs |
| Social Tables (Cvent) | 3 events, 150 attendees, 2 diagrams per event | Standard $49 · Pro $150 · Premium $320 per month | Subscription, 12-month commitment | While subscribed | 150 (Standard, Pro) · unlimited (Premium) | — | — | — |
Checked 14 October 2026 on each company’s own pricing or help page. “—” means the page we checked didn’t say, not that the feature is missing. Prices and limits change, so confirm before you buy. Seatbee’s homepage mentions passes “from $12.99”, but its pricing page lists $29 as the lowest pass, so we show the pricing page. We left out Top Table Planner and The Knot because we couldn’t load their own pages to re-check them.
Sources: table-plan.com pricing · table-plan.com seating chart generator · Seatbee pricing · SeatPlan.io pricing · SeatPlan.io FAQ · SeatCanvas pricing · SimplifyTables pricing · PlanSeats pricing · PerfectTablePlan purchase page · Zola Help Center: seating chart · Joy Help: Seating Chart · Social Tables pricing.
Price is only one part of the decision. If you are still choosing on features like the floor plan and guest details, our comparison of the best wedding seating chart tools covers those side by side.
One-time, expiring pass or subscription: what’s the difference?
Seating chart apps sell access in three ways, and the label on the button doesn’t always tell you which one you are buying.
One-time and permanent
You pay once and keep the plan. Lovely Seating Pro ($39), PlanSeats’ $50 Lifetime Plus option (“keep it forever”) and PerfectTablePlan’s desktop licences (“a single payment (not a recurring subscription)”) work this way. This suits couples who start early, or whose date moves.
One-time, but it expires
You pay once, but editing ends after a set time. This is the most common model, and the one that catches people out. SeatPlan.io’s Pro and Collaborate last 90 days, then charts turn view-only and become eligible for deletion after a 7-day grace period. table-plan.com Premium is “valid for 3 months” and then reverts to Free. Seatbee keeps your plan saved, but “you just can’t make changes after 6 months without renewing.” SeatCanvas runs until 30 days after your event, which is generous if you set the date correctly.
Expiring passes aren’t a trick. They are usually cheaper, and if you buy one in the last two or three months you may never notice the limit. Just time the purchase: late RSVPs, plus-ones and a guest who can’t sit near an ex tend to arrive in the final weeks, which is exactly when you need to edit.
Subscription
You pay monthly or yearly, and access lasts while you pay. These plans are aimed at planners and venues: table-plan.com Pro ($49/month), PlanSeats Pro ($39.99/month), SeatPlan.io Event Manager (£40/month billed annually), Social Tables ($49–$320/month with a 12-month commitment) and Lovely Seating Agency ($79/month). For a single wedding, a subscription rarely makes sense.
What do you actually get for free?
“Free” ranges from a demo that forgets your work when you close the tab to a full plan you can finish. These are the three limits to check.
- Does it save? SeatPlan.io’s FAQ says “We do not store charts for free or anonymous users.” PerfectTablePlan’s trial won’t save, export or print plans over 30 guests. Seatbee, SeatCanvas and Lovely Seating save free plans to a free account.
- Is there a guest cap? Zola is free to 15 guests, PlanSeats to 20 (and 4 tables), table-plan.com and SimplifyTables to 30, SeatCanvas seats up to 40 on its canvas, and Seatbee allows 100. Lovely Seating’s free plan has no guest or table cap.
- Can you print? Seatbee and SeatCanvas let you export PDFs for free, which is a real strength. table-plan.com, SeatPlan.io and Lovely Seating keep print-ready PDFs for paid plans.
Lovely Seating’s free plan ($0, forever) covers 1 wedding, 1 seating plan with unlimited guests and tables, the drag-and-drop floor plan, guest list and RSVP tracking, CSV import, and relationship-aware Auto-Seat, which keeps households together and conflicts apart. You see the finished plan on screen with a watermark. Printing, place cards, the guest QR page, collaboration and version history are part of Pro.
Which seating chart app is cheapest for a couple?
Take a typical case: 150 guests, planning starts nine months before the wedding, and you want a printed chart plus a QR code at the door. Here is roughly what each tool costs, based on the prices above.
| Tool | What you’d buy | Total | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
| SimplifyTables | Unlimited Guests | $9.99 | No auto-seat described; check how you’ll print the chart |
| SeatCanvas | Event Pass | $19.99 | QR seat finder not listed |
| SeatPlan.io | Collaborate (for the QR) | £14 | 90 days; buy in the last three months |
| Lovely Seating | Pro | $39 | One wedding; no free trial of Pro (the free plan is uncapped) |
| table-plan.com | Premium | $29 | 3 months; buy late or pay twice. No auto-seat |
| Seatbee | Event Pass | $29 | 6 months of edits; QR not listed |
| PerfectTablePlan | Home licence | $29.95 | Desktop install; QR not listed |
| PlanSeats | Lifetime Plus, one-time | $50 | QR not listed |
On cash alone, SimplifyTables and SeatCanvas are cheaper than we are, and they deserve credit for it. Lovely Seating costs a little more because Pro covers the whole job and doesn’t expire: Auto-Seat (already free), print-ready charts in 7 themes, place cards, a Find Your Seat QR page that updates when you move someone, and collaboration with your partner.
If your list is 15 guests or fewer, Zola’s free tier may be all you need. If it is under 100 and you don’t need a QR code, Seatbee’s free plan, PDFs included, is hard to beat.
Build the whole chart free, then decide
Add every guest (there’s no cap), lay out your room and let Auto-Seat do the first pass. Upgrade to Pro for $39 once only when you want to print, share or publish the QR page. No card needed to start.
Which is cheapest for a wedding planner?
For planners the maths changes, because you pay per wedding or per month. This table shows a year’s cost at 12 and at 30 weddings, using each tool’s list price.
| Tool | 12 weddings / year | 30 weddings / year | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lovely Seating Agency | $948 | $948 | Unlimited weddings, white-label exports, Auto-Seat, QR seat finder |
| table-plan.com | $348 (12 × $29 Premium) | $588 (Pro, $49/month) | Premium: 250 guests, 3 months each |
| Seatbee | $247 (5 + 5 + 2 passes) | $594 (six 5-pass bundles) | 250 guests, 6 months of edits per pass |
| PlanSeats Pro | $479.88 | $479.88 | Unlimited events, monthly |
| SeatPlan.io Event Manager | £480 | £480 | Billed annually |
| PerfectTablePlan Professional | $299.95 once | $299.95 once | Desktop app (Windows & Mac) |
| Social Tables | $588 (Standard) | $1,800 (Pro) | Standard allows 15 events a year; 12-month commitment |
On price alone, Agency isn’t the cheapest option. Seatbee’s bundles and PerfectTablePlan’s Professional licence cost less, and table-plan.com’s per-event Premium is cheaper at 12 weddings. Social Tables offers annual-billing discounts on top of the monthly prices shown.
Agency is built for a different job: unlimited weddings and seating plans in the browser, white-label exports with no Lovely Seating credit, a QR seat finder for every client, version history across all plans and priority support. If those matter, the seating chart software for wedding planners page shows how it fits a client workflow.
How do you choose by price?
Work through these in order:
- Count your guests. If you’re over the free cap, you’ll pay anyway, so compare paid tiers.
- Check when access ends against your date. Starting more than three months out? Pick a plan that doesn’t expire, or buy a pass late.
- List the extras you’ll actually use. A QR code at the door, place cards, automatic seating, a partner editing with you. Then check which tier includes each.
- Try before you pay. Build on the free plan first. A tool with no guest cap lets you test it with your real list.
Seating software is a small line in a wedding budget. If you’re still setting the rest of it, the wedding budget calculator splits a total across categories, stationery included.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a completely free wedding seating chart app?
+
Several have free plans, but most cap guests or hold back saving or printing. Zola is free up to 15 guests, PlanSeats up to 20, table-plan.com and SimplifyTables up to 30, and Seatbee up to 100. SeatPlan.io’s free designer doesn’t save. Lovely Seating’s free plan has no guest cap, saves to your account and includes Auto-Seat; printing is part of Pro ($39 one-time).
Do seating chart app passes expire?
+
Many do. SeatPlan.io’s Pro and Collaborate last 90 days, table-plan.com Premium lasts 3 months, Seatbee’s Event Pass allows edits for 6 months, and SeatCanvas runs until 30 days after your event. Check this before you buy early in your engagement, because late RSVPs often mean editing the chart in the final weeks.
Is Zola’s seating chart free?
+
Partly. Zola’s help center says you can try the seating chart free for up to 15 guests, then unlock the Premium version to add more. It doesn’t publish the Premium price on that page, so check in the app. The chart works in Zola’s iOS app and on desktop, seating is manual, and you can download a PDF or Excel file.
Which seating chart app has free automatic seating?
+
Lovely Seating includes relationship-aware Auto-Seat on its free plan, with no guest cap. SeatCanvas offers a free preview of its Smart Seat for up to 40 guests. Seatbee, PlanSeats and Joy include automatic seating only in paid passes or plans, PerfectTablePlan in its paid desktop licence, and table-plan.com doesn’t auto-assign guests.
Is a one-time payment better than a subscription for a wedding?
+
For one wedding, usually yes. You plan a single event over a few months, so a one-time price is simpler and cheaper than a monthly bill you might forget to cancel. The catch is that “one-time” doesn’t always mean permanent: some one-time passes stop working after 90 days or a few months, so check how long access lasts.
What’s the cheapest seating chart software for wedding planners?
+
It depends on volume. At 12 weddings a year, Seatbee’s pass bundles (about $247) and PerfectTablePlan Professional ($299.95 once, desktop) cost the least of the tools we checked. Lovely Seating Agency ($79/month) costs more, but covers unlimited weddings with white-label exports, Auto-Seat and a QR seat finder in the browser.
Start free. Pay once if you need it.
Build your whole seating plan free, with no guest cap and Auto-Seat included. Pro is $39 once when you want to print and share, and it never expires.
Start your seating chart free